Magic Monday – What HAS it got in its pocketses?

Conjurer’s Pocket

Proving once again that convenience is more highly prized than safety, this rote carries several risks but is still used to reduce the weight of several logistical considerations, whether the magician is on the road or just simplifying routine tasks at home. The magician marks some of their possessions and leaves them in a specially-prepared receptacle; later they may be called to hand in an instant across almost any distance. However, the threads that connect the “pocket” and the hand may be seen in the Shadow, especially near each end of the connection.


Preparing the receptacle has a difficulty of d8 and requires an investment of a point of fatigue, which may not be recovered as long as it remains active as a “pocket.” Marking an object has a difficulty of d6, and similarly requires an investment of a point of strain, which may not be recovered for as long as the object remains marked. Calling an object to hand requires no spell roll, but may require Concentration, and costs one point of strain per step of distance, starting at no cost from within the same room. The cost to call an object can be decreased by a step, but this increases the receptacle and marking difficulties by one step each.

Anything that can interact with the Shadow – including other magicians who know this spell, if they notice the signs that it’s in use – may notice and interact with the pocket’s thread(s), including cutting them or attempting to intercept a called object. Generally this sort of shenanigans requires a challenge roll between the magician and whatever is interfering. In extreme cases, beings within the Shadow may even attempt to follow the thread into the mortal plane!

(One inspiration, among several.)

About Confanity

I love the written word more than anything else I've had the chance to work with. I'm back in the States from Japan for grad school, but still studying Japanese with the hope of becoming a translator -- or writer, or even teacher -- as long as it's something language-related.
This entry was posted in Rules, Setting, World-Building and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s